Punjab’s Assembly Session Marked by SAD Boycott as Chief Minister Election Underway

News Desk4 months ago

Speaker of the Punjab Assembly Malik Ahmad Khan, a recent election, was presiding over the 11:30 a.m. session.

Speaker Khan said at the beginning of the meeting that there would only be elections for the position of chief minister and that no legislator would be permitted to speak.

The speaker appointed a committee, consisting of Khawaja Salman Rafique, Salman Nazeer, Samiullah, and Khalil Tahir Sindhu, to persuade the lawmakers to come back to the Assembly as the SIC MPAs left.

PML-N Senior Vice President Maryam Nawaz Sharif is the party’s nominee for chief minister, running against Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) candidate Rana Aftab Ahmed, while Murad Ali Shah of the PPP will take on Ali Khurshidi of Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) in Sindh.

After the province police attempted to detain PTI’s previous nominee, Mian Aslam Iqbal, for the position, PTI abruptly announced Rana Aftab Ahmed Khan as their replacement.

It’s noteworthy that the PML-N has a substantial number of candidates, adding to the competitive nature of the election. The oath-taking ceremony occurred on Friday, with 321 out of 371 members of the Punjab Assembly taking their oaths.

Maryam Nawaz had little difficulty securing the top job in the House due to the strong majority held by the PML-N and its supporters.

In the house that the party numerically dominates, the PML-N secured victory in the speaker and deputy speaker elections for the Punjab Assembly one day prior.

Read more: Who Will be the Finance Minister, If Coalition Allies Form Govt?

Malik Muhammad Ahmed Khan, the leader of the PML-N, secured the position of PA Speaker by garnering an overwhelming 224 votes out of the 327 polled in the house. Simultaneously, receiving 220 votes, Malik Zaheer Ahmed Channer, the PML-N nominee for deputy speaker, defeated Mohammad Moinuddin of the Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.