Maryam Nawaz Elected as Punjab Chief Minister

News Desk2 months ago

Speaker of the Punjab Assembly Malik Ahmad Khan, a recent election, was presiding over the 11:30 a.m. session.

Members of the opposition Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) disrupted the Punjab Assembly session, causing chaos.

Speaker Khan said at the beginning of the meeting that there would only be elections for the position of chief minister and that no legislator would be permitted to speak. The speaker appointed a committee, consisting of Khawaja Salman Rafique, Salman Nazeer, Samiullah, and Khalil Tahir Sindhu, to persuade the lawmakers to come back to the Assembly as the SIC MPAs left.

PML-N Senior Vice President Maryam Nawaz Sharif is the party’s nominee for chief minister, running against Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) candidate Rana Aftab Ahmed, while Murad Ali Shah of the PPP will take on Ali Khurshidi of Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) in Sindh. PTI – at the eleventh hour – named Rana Aftab Ahmed Khan as its new candidate for the post following the provincial police’s attempt to arrest its earlier nominee, Mian Aslam Iqbal.

Notably, the PML-N has a sizable field of candidates, which heightens the election’s competitiveness. 321 out of 371 members of the Punjab Assembly took the oath of office on Friday at the event. Maryam Nawaz had little difficulty securing the top job in the House due to the strong majority held by the PML-N and its supporters.

Read more: PMLN Appears As Best Economic Performer in 30 Years, Bloomberg

In the house that the party numerically dominates, the PML-N secured victory in the speaker and deputy speaker elections for the Punjab Assembly one day prior.

Malik Muhammad Ahmed Khan, the leader of the PML-N, secured the position of PA Speaker by garnering an overwhelming 224 votes out of the 327 polled in the house. Simultaneously, receiving 220 votes, Malik Zaheer Ahmed Channer, the PML-N nominee for deputy speaker, defeated Mohammad Moinuddin of the Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.