Shehbaz Sharif Makes History as Pakistan’s 24th Elected Prime Minister

News Desk2 months ago

Omar Ayub Khan, the opponent of Shehbaz Sharif and the Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC), received 92 votes against Sharif’s 201.

The National Assembly Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq presided over the session, which started with Jam Kamal of the PML-N taking the oath of office.

SIC legislators held up images of the PTI founders and screamed protest slogans as soon as the session started.

The Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan, and Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP) all supported Shehbaz Sharif together.

According to sources who spoke with ARY News, the next prime minister will take the oath of office at the President’s House on March 4 at 3 p.m. President Dr. Arif Alvi will conduct the event.

Shehbaz Sharif’s representatives, Ishaq Dar, Hanif Abbasi, and Khursheed Shah, turned in the paperwork. Regarding the previous PM’s nomination papers, seven MNAs are proposers and seven more are seconders.

Read more: PMLN Initiates New Slogan ‘Pakistan K Liye’ Ahead of Generel Elections
MNAs Barrister Gohar Ali Khan, Asad Qaiser, Riaz Khan Fatyana, and Umair Khan Niazi proposed Omar Ayub Khan’s nomination papers, while MNAs Muhammad Sanaullah Khan Mastikhel, Ali Khan Jadoon, Mujahid Ali, and Malik Mohammad Amir Dogar seconded them.

In Friday’s session, the Pakistan People’s Party and PML-N easily defeated the SIC and PTI-backed candidates to pick their speaker and deputy speaker.

On March 9, the newly elected members of the National Assembly will choose a new head of state, ending the term of PTI-backed President Arif Alvi. This will happen after the election of the prime minister.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.