ICC Announces Nominees for ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year 2023

News Desk6 months ago
ICC Announces Nominees for ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year 2023

International Cricket Council (ICC) revealed the contenders for the ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year Award for 2023.

Suryakumar Yadav, the 2022 recipient, has once again been nominated for his outstanding performance in T20Is. Other nominees include Sikander Raza from Zimbabwe, Mark Chapman from New Zealand, and Alpesh Ramjani from Uganda.

Yadav showcased an impressive record, amassing 733 runs at an average of 48.86 in 17 innings, with a striking strike rate of 155.95. Despite a modest start against Sri Lanka, he made a strong comeback with scores of 51 (36) and an unbeaten 112* (51) in the following matches.

Also Read: Shakib ul Hassan Joins Politics

Throughout the year, he consistently contributed with scores ranging from 20 to 40, including notable innings of 83 (44) against the West Indies and a 61-run knock in Florida. He capped off the year with half-centuries against Australia and South Africa and a century against South Africa, scoring 100 off just 56 balls.

Sikander Raza, the Zimbabwean all-rounder, secured his place on the shortlist with a well-rounded performance. He accumulated 515 runs at an impressive average of 51.50 in 11 innings, maintaining a remarkable strike rate of 150. Additionally, Raza showcased his bowling skills by picking up 17 wickets at an average of 14.88 and an economical run rate of 6.5.

Mark Chapman, a rising middle-order batter from New Zealand, earned his nomination through stellar performances in the shortest format. He amassed 576 runs at an average of 44.3 in 19 innings in 2023, making a notable impact during the T20I tour of Pakistan, where he scored 290 runs in the five-match series, including a match-winning hundred in the final fixture.

Uganda’s Alpesh Ramjani, a formidable force for batters in 2023, completes the list of nominees. He impressed with 55 wickets in T20Is at a remarkable average of 8.9 and an outstanding economy of 4.7. His 55 wickets in 30 outings stood as the highest among men’s players in the T20I format throughout the year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.