Asif Ali Zardari Triumphs in Presidential Election, Named Pakistan’s 14th President

News Desk1 month ago

For the second time in Pakistan’s parliamentary history, Zardari was able to win the majority of votes cast in the electoral college, which is made up of the provincial assemblies and the parliament.

The Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC), which supported Mehmood Khan Achakzai, the candidate who represents PTI independents, only managed to garner 181 votes, compared to 411 for the PPP co-Chairman.

The nominee of the coalition government garnered 255 votes in a combined session of the National Assembly and Senate, while the candidate nominated by the SIC only managed to garner 119 votes.

Mahmood Khan Achakzai, the nominee of the Sunni Ittehad Council, and Asif Ali Zardari, the joint candidate of the PML-N and the PPP, ran for president.

Former President Asif Ali Zardari has received support from the current ruling coalition, which is made up of the PML-N, the PPP, and the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P).

The Senate, National Assembly, and four provincial assemblies elect the President through an electoral college.

Read more:PML-N Meeting for Punjab Cabinet Finalization

Today, the members of the National Assembly and the Senate convened at the parliament building in Islamabad to exercise their right to vote in a joint session of parliament.

All four assemblies will serve as polling places for the next presidential elections, according to a declaration made on Saturday by the Pakistani Election Commission.

The election of the nation’s next president will be decided by at least 162 members of the provincial assemblies in Sindh, 353 in Punjab, 65 in Balochistan, and 115 in KP.

PPP co-chair Asif Ali Zardari is expected to win a majority in the Senate and all assemblies and become Pakistan’s second elected president.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.